Orwell Township

Orwell township, organized July 27, 1886, had been previously known as West Buse, but was then called Liberty, which was changed November 3, 1886, to the present name. This is borne also by townships and villages in Vermont, New York, Pensylvania, and Ohio. It was adopted here in compliment to Charles D. Wright, who was born in Orwell, Vt., November 8, 1850; came to Minnesota in 1869, and was employed seven years in the office of the US surveyor general in St. Paul; settled in Fergus Falls in 1877; was mayor in 1885 and 1888, and president of the First Nation Bank, 1882-1912.

Source: The Book “Minnesota Geographic Names: Their Origin and Historic Significance” Volume 17 – 1920 By Warren Upham”

About The Area

Population: 170
Area: 34.83037
Major Lakes: Orwell
Minor Civil Division: 2711148742
Township and Range: T 132N - R 44W

Interactive Street Map
Commissioner District: District 3
Cities in this Township:
No locations listed

Plat Books Last Updated: May 2016

Scroll to Top